Wine Grapes Database - Quattrocalici

The Syrah Grape Variety

    The Syrah grape is a Black berry variety and is mostly grown in Trentino-Alto Adige region(s). The Syrah grapes are also widely present in a bigger area which includes Abruzzo, Emilia-Romagna, Latium, Liguria, Lombardy, Marche, Molise, Sardinia, Sicily, Tuscany, Umbria, Aosta Valley, Trentino-Alto Adige, Veneto regions as well. The Syrah grape belongs to the International varieties group. The wine made from the Syrah grapes is and its taste is basically dry, full bodied, tannic, fruity, floral.

    Syrah grape

    Syrah Variety main information

      Berry colorBlack berry
      Vine categoryInternational varieties
      Registration year1970
      Authorized provincesFoggia, Trento
      Authorized regionsAbruzzo, Emilia-Romagna, Latium, Liguria, Lombardy, Marche, Molise, Sardinia, Sicily, Tuscany, Umbria, Aosta Valley
      Provinces under observationBolzano, Padova, Treviso, Venezia, Verona, Vicenza
      Regions under observationBasilicata, Calabria
      Recommended provinces, , ,
      Recommended regionsPiedmont

      Syrah ampelographic description

      Leaf descriptors

      medium, big sized, pentagonal shape, with three, five lobes.

      Grape descriptors

      medium, loose, medium, cylindrical, with 0-1 wing(s).

      Berry descriptors

      medium, small, ovoid shape, thin, medium bloom and with blue-black skin.

      Syrah Wine Features

      The wine obtained from the Syrah grapes has colour. Its taste is dry, full bodied, tannic, fruity, floral.

      Featured Wine appellations for the Syrah variety

      Appellation nameTypeRegion
      Alcamo DOCDOCSicily
      Alto Livenza IGTIGTFriuli-Venezia Giulia, Veneto
      Atina DOCDOCLatium
      Basilicata IGTIGTBasilicata
      Bolgheri DOCDOCTuscany
      Colli Aprutini IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Colli Cimini IGTIGTLatium
      Colli del Sangro IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Colli della Toscana Centrale IGTIGTTuscany
      Colli Trevigiani IGTIGTVeneto
      Colline Frentane IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Colline Lucchesi DOCDOCTuscany
      Colline Pescaresi IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Colline Teatine IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Conselvano IGTIGTVeneto
      Contea di Sclafani DOCDOCSicily
      Contessa Entellina DOCDOCSicily
      Cortona DOCDOCTuscany
      Costa Etrusco Romana IGTIGTLatium
      Daunia IGTIGTPuglia
      del Vastese o Histonium IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Delia Nivolelli DOCDOCSicily
      Erice DOCDOCSicily
      Forlì IGTIGTEmilia-Romagna
      Frusinate o del Frusinate IGTIGTLatium
      Lazio IGTIGTLatium
      Liguria di Levante IGTIGTLiguria
      Marca Trevigiana IGTIGTVeneto
      Marche IGTIGTMarche
      Maremma Toscana DOCDOCTuscany
      Menfi DOCDOCSicily
      Mitterberg IGTIGTTrentino-Alto Adige
      Monreale DOCDOCSicily
      Montecarlo DOCDOCTuscany
      Monteregio di Massa Marittima DOCDOCTuscany
      Murgia IGTIGTPuglia
      Piemonte DOCDOCPiedmont
      Puglia IGTIGTPuglia
      Ravenna IGTIGTEmilia-Romagna
      Riesi DOCDOCSicily
      Roma DOCDOCLatium
      Rubicone IGTIGTEmilia-Romagna
      Salaparuta DOCDOCSicily
      Salento IGTIGTPuglia
      Sambuca di Sicilia DOCDOCSicily
      San Gimignano DOCDOCTuscany
      Sicilia DOCDOCSicily
      Tarantino IGTIGTPuglia
      Terratico di Bibbona DOCDOCTuscany
      Terre Aquilane o Terre de l’Aquila IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Terre di Chieti IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Terre di Pisa DOCDOCTuscany
      Val d’Arno di Sopra DOCDOCTuscany
      Valle d’Aosta o Vallée d’Aoste DOCDOCAosta Valley
      Valle d’Itria IGTIGTPuglia
      Veneto Orientale IGTIGTVeneto
      Verona o Provincia di Verona o Veronese IGTIGTVeneto