Wine Grapes Database - Quattrocalici

The Chardonnay Grape Variety

    The Chardonnay grape is a white berry variety and is mostly grown in Friuli-Venezia Giulia region(s). The Chardonnay grapes are also widely present in a bigger area which includes Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Veneto, Abruzzo, Basilicata, Calabria, Emilia-Romagna, Latium, Lombardy, Marche, Sicily, Tuscany, Umbria, Aosta Valley, Puglia regions as well. The Chardonnay grape belongs to the International varieties group. The wine made from the Chardonnay grapes is straw yellow, intense and its taste is basically fruity, elegant, round.

    Chardonnay grape

    Chardonnay Variety main information

      Berry colorwhite berry
      Vine categoryInternational varieties
      Registration year1978
      Authorized provincesBenevento, Bolzano
      Authorized regionsAbruzzo, Basilicata, Calabria, Emilia-Romagna, Latium, Lombardy, Marche, Sicily, Tuscany, Umbria, Aosta Valley
      Provinces under observationBelluno, Rovigo
      Recommended provinces, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
      Recommended regionsPiedmont, Sardinia

      Chardonnay ampelographic description

      Leaf descriptors

      medium sized, entire leaf lobes.

      Grape descriptors

      dense, medium, cylindrical, conical, with 0-2 wing(s).

      Berry descriptors

      small, spheroidal shape, thin, medium bloom and with green-yellow skin.

      Chardonnay Wine Features

      The wine obtained from the Chardonnay grapes has straw yellow, intense colour. Its taste is fruity, elegant, round.

      Featured Wine appellations for the Chardonnay variety

      Appellation nameTypeRegion
      Abruzzo DOCDOCAbruzzo
      Alcamo DOCDOCSicily
      Alghero DOCDOCSardinia
      Alta Langa DOCGDOCGPiedmont
      Alto Adige o dell’Alto Adige DOCDOCTrentino-Alto Adige
      Alto Livenza IGTIGTFriuli-Venezia Giulia, Veneto
      Alto Mincio IGTIGTLombardy
      Anagni IGTIGTLatium
      Aprilia DOCDOCLatium
      Arcole DOCDOCVeneto
      Arghillà IGTIGTCalabria
      Bagnoli di Sopra o Bagnoli DOCDOCVeneto
      Basilicata IGTIGTBasilicata
      Benaco Bresciano IGTIGTLombardy
      Benevento o Beneventano IGTIGTCampania
      Bianco di Custoza o Custoza DOCDOCVeneto
      Bianco di Pitigliano DOCDOCTuscany
      Breganze DOCDOCVeneto
      Brindisi DOCDOCPuglia
      Calabria IGTIGTCalabria
      Carso DOCDOCFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Castel del Monte DOCDOCPuglia
      Circeo DOCDOCLatium
      Civitella D’Agliano IGTIGTLatium
      Colli Altotiberini DOCDOCUmbria
      Colli Aprutini IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Colli Berici DOCDOCVeneto
      Colli Bolognesi DOCDOCEmilia-Romagna
      Colli Cimini IGTIGTLatium
      Colli del Sangro IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Colli della Toscana Centrale IGTIGTTuscany
      Colli di Conegliano DOCGDOCGVeneto
      Colli di Faenza DOCDOCEmilia-Romagna
      Colli di Parma DOCDOCEmilia-Romagna
      Colli di Rimini DOCDOCEmilia-Romagna
      Colli di Scandiano e di Canossa DOCDOCEmilia-Romagna
      Colli d’Imola DOCDOCEmilia-Romagna
      Colli Euganei DOCDOCVeneto
      Colli Maceratesi DOCDOCMarche
      Colli Martani DOCDOCUmbria
      Colli Perugini DOCDOCUmbria
      Colli Pesaresi DOCDOCMarche
      Colli Piacentini DOCDOCEmilia-Romagna
      Colli Romagna Centrale DOCDOCEmilia-Romagna
      Colli Tortonesi DOCDOCPiedmont
      Colline Frentane IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Colline Joniche Tarantine DOCDOCPuglia
      Colline Pescaresi IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Colline Teatine IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Collio Goriziano o Collio DOCDOCFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Conselvano IGTIGTVeneto
      Contea di Sclafani DOCDOCSicily
      Contessa Entellina DOCDOCSicily
      Controguerra DOCDOCAbruzzo
      Corti Benedettine del Padovano DOCDOCVeneto
      Cortona DOCDOCTuscany
      Costa Etrusco Romana IGTIGTLatium
      Costa Viola IGTIGTCalabria
      Curtefranca DOCDOCLombardy
      del Vastese o Histonium IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Delia Nivolelli DOCDOCSicily
      delle Venezie IGTIGTFriuli-Venezia Giulia, Veneto, Trentino-Alto Adige
      Dugenta IGTIGTCampania
      Emilia o dell’Emilia IGTIGTEmilia-Romagna
      Epomeo IGTIGTCampania
      Erice DOCDOCSicily
      Fontanarossa di Cerda IGTIGTSicily
      Forlì IGTIGTEmilia-Romagna
      Franciacorta DOCGDOCGLombardy
      Friuli Annia DOCDOCFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Friuli Aquileia DOCDOCFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Friuli Colli Orientali DOCDOCFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Friuli Grave DOCDOCFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Friuli Isonzo o Isonzo del Friuli DOCDOCFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Friuli Latisana DOCDOCFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Galatina DOCDOCPuglia
      Gambellara DOCDOCVeneto
      Garda Colli Mantovani DOCDOCLombardy
      Garda DOCDOCLombardy, Veneto
      Lago di Corbara DOCDOCUmbria
      Langhe DOCDOCPiedmont
      Lazio IGTIGTLatium
      Lessini Durello DOCDOCVeneto
      Leverano DOCDOCPuglia
      Lipuda IGTIGTCalabria
      Lison Pramaggiore DOCDOCVeneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia
      Lizzano DOCDOCPuglia
      Locride IGTIGTCalabria
      Marca Trevigiana IGTIGTVeneto
      Marche IGTIGTMarche
      Maremma Toscana DOCDOCTuscany
      Menfi DOCDOCSicily
      Merlara DOCDOCVeneto
      Molise o del Molise DOCDOCMolise
      Monreale DOCDOCSicily
      Montello e Colli Asolani DOCDOCVeneto
      Montenetto di Brescia IGTIGTLombardy
      Montescudaio DOCDOCTuscany
      Monti Lessini DOCDOCVeneto
      Oltrepò Pavese DOCDOCLombardy
      Oltrepò Pavese metodo classico DOCGDOCGLombardy
      Paestum IGTIGTCampania
      Palizzi IGTIGTCalabria
      Parrina DOCDOCTuscany
      Pellaro IGTIGTCalabria
      Piemonte DOCDOCPiedmont
      Pomino DOCDOCTuscany
      Pompeiano IGTIGTCampania
      Prosecco DOCDOCVeneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia
      Provincia di Pavia IGTIGTLombardy
      Ravenna IGTIGTEmilia-Romagna
      Riesi DOCDOCSicily
      Riviera del Brenta DOCDOCVeneto
      Ronchi di Brescia IGTIGTLombardy
      Rosazzo DOCGDOCGFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Rubicone IGTIGTEmilia-Romagna
      Salaparuta DOCDOCSicily
      Salice Salentino DOCDOCPuglia
      Sambuca di Sicilia DOCDOCSicily
      San Colombano al Lambro o San Colombano DOCDOCLombardy
      San Torpé DOCDOCTuscany
      Savuto DOCDOCCalabria
      Scavigna DOCDOCCalabria
      Sciacca DOCDOCSicily
      Scilla IGTIGTCalabria
      Sebino IGTIGTLombardy
      Sicilia DOCDOCSicily
      Soave DOCDOCVeneto
      Squinzano DOCDOCPuglia
      Terra d’Otranto DOCDOCPuglia
      Terre Aquilane o Terre de l’Aquila IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Terre del Colleoni o Colleoni DOCDOCLombardy
      Terre di Casole DOCDOCTuscany
      Terre di Chieti IGTIGTAbruzzo
      Terre di Cosenza DOCDOCCalabria
      Terre Lariane IGTIGTLombardy
      Terre Tollesi o Tullum DOCDOCAbruzzo
      Torgiano DOCDOCUmbria
      Trentino DOCDOCTrentino-Alto Adige
      Trento DOCDOCTrentino-Alto Adige
      Val d’Arbia DOCDOCTuscany
      Val d’Arno di Sopra DOCDOCTuscany
      Val di Neto IGTIGTCalabria
      Valcalepio DOCDOCLombardy
      Valdadige DOCDOCTrentino-Alto Adige, Veneto
      Valdamato IGTIGTCalabria
      Valdichiana Toscana DOCDOCTuscany
      Vallagarina IGTIGTTrentino-Alto Adige, Veneto
      Valle d’Aosta o Vallée d’Aoste DOCDOCAosta Valley
      Valli Ossolane DOCDOCPiedmont
      Veneto Orientale IGTIGTVeneto
      Venezia DOCDOCVeneto
      Venezia Giulia IGTIGTFriuli-Venezia Giulia
      Verona o Provincia di Verona o Veronese IGTIGTVeneto
      Vicenza DOCDOCVeneto
      Vigneti della Serenissima o Serenissima DOCDOCVeneto